The Work of an Undisclosed Pig Farmer

For the past 8 years, I have been working very hard on a project outside of school, the raising, showing and selling pigs for The Northwest Jr. Livestock Show. This has been a huge part of my life, and making me who I am as a person, because I have grown up around this industry. It has taught me the importance of hard work, endurance in challenges, the element of sportsmanship and the value of a dollar. Besides my time spent on school work and extra curricular activities at Enumclaw High School,  I spend a frequent amount of my time at the pig barn.

Since I was young, I have always been extremely ambitious and try my hardest to push myself to the full potential of my capabilities. Although I do push myself too far sometimes, I believe that adding responsibilities now will allow me to grow into a greater student in the future. One of my big responsibilities is leading my 4h club. I have been the clubs Vice President for 4 years, and am looking at the opening position of President next year. This job allows me to get lots of experience in communications, leadership and professionalism that will help me in the future. My 4h club is Ganados 4h, Here is a link to our Facebook page Ganados Facebook Page .  Check it out!

Here is a video explaining the importance of 4h!

Most people at school do not know that I partake in these activities, and when I talk about it many are surprised that I am willing to hang out in the dirt with farm animals, but it’s true!

Image result for pigs market

Throughout my years of showing, I have won multiple perpetual awards, Including the John Eby award and the Walt Bergman award for perpetual achievement. I was nominated for both of these awards by my leaders and club mates, and voted on by a show board committee. I have won the Walt Bergman award two years in a row now, and plan on helping present the award this year at the awards banquet on April 22nd at the The Washington Spring Fair.  Among my perpetual awards, I have won many of my divisions in the market grading and showmanship levels. This is the first year that I will be in a different division, the senior division, and I will be competing with 17 and 18 year olds.

 

Image result for northwest junior livestock show

Although I have won many things in this competition over the past 8 years, I have also had my fair share of losses. With the pride of winning comes hundreds of hours of work; sweating, crying and sometimes bleeding… But in the end, it is all worth it. The lessons that I have learned in this program has truly provided me with lessons that cannot be taught in school, but I will be forever grateful for.

2 thoughts on “The Work of an Undisclosed Pig Farmer

Leave a Reply

